Jawaharlal Nehru Planetarium (JNP), Bangalore, was established in 1989 by the Bangalore City Corporation, now known as the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP). The administration of the planetarium was entrusted to Bangalore Association for Science Education (BASE) which was formed in 1992. BASE is an Autonomous Body which is registered under Karnataka Societies' Registration Act. It is principally supported by annual grants from the Department of Science and Technology, Government of Karnataka.

The BASE Governing Council consists of eminent scientists and educationists and senior officials of the Government of Karnataka.

JNP organises several popularisation and non-formal science education activities throughout the year. Because of these multifarious activities organised every year, it has emerged as a premier planetarium at the national level.

Former Directors

Prof. C V Vishveshwara Founder Director (1989 – 1992) and (1993 – 2006)
Dr. G S D Babu Formerly with Indian Institute of Astrophysics, currently Director,
MP Birla Institute of Fundamental Research, Bangalore (1992 – 1993)
Prof. C S Shukre Formerly with Raman Research institute, Bangalore (2006 – 2011)
Dr. B S Shylaja Now Visiting Scientist at Jawaharlal Nehru Planetarium (2012 – 2017)
Shree Pramod G. Galgali 2017-2023